Marry Me For God’s Sake!

“If you want to be free to serve Jesus, there’s no question—stay single. Marriage takes a lot of time. But if you want to become more like Jesus, I can’t imagine any better thing to do than to get married. Being married forces you to face some character issues you’d never have to face otherwise.” Sacred Marriage by Gary L. Thomas

As such, I think I am perfectly poised to fill this vacancy in your life for the following reasons:

  • I am still a work in progress therefore I am constantly growing, changing and on a journey to becoming whole.

    Obstacle

    Obstacle (Photo credit: The U.S. Army)

  • I am well equipped to buff, polish and shine your own personality and to help develop character, resilience and patience thus helping you in your journey towards reflecting Jesus more and more each day.
  • My various idiosyncrasies, though diminishing…multiplying in flux, will provide an ample supply of challenges to contribute to the sanctification process, the Potter’s wheel and the refiner’s fire that are so necessary in your journey toward dying to self.

I believe I come as a full package capable of advancing your ultimate goal to be holy, to love God first, most and best and to love your fellow-man as yourself. Marry me will accelerate the sharpening and polishing of your character, heart motivations and your ability to grow in understanding of 1 Corinthians 13:4-7.

Did I say I’m not perfect yet? According to Sacred Marriage by Gary L. Thomas, that makes me perfect for you!  So, this is my case for marriage. Do you have any questions?

My thanks to the Institute of American Values for their Literature Review of the Consequences of Marriage for African Americans. It is a good read. Go check it out for the full review.

Leave a Reply

