Marry Me For Money!

A comprehensive review of literature and surveys on the consequences of marriage for African Americans – for the sake of argument let’s just say people of African descent – have summised that marriage promotes the economic, social, familial, and psychological well-being of both men and women.

2010 OHNY: Tom Otterness Studio - Marriage of ...

2010 OHNY: Tom Otterness Studio – Marriage of Money and Real Estate (Photo credit: wallyg)

Over the next few posts therefore, I think it only prudent and fair that I take this opportunity to make my case. This is purely academic!

In this post I will therefore present to you my economic skills, or as I like to call it, my wealth-creating powers. Marrying me will bring the following results:

  • Increased earnings,
  • higher levels of occupational prestige than our unmarried peers,
  • protection from economic trouble as we will be significantly less likely to suffer from material hardship such as insufficient funds to pay bills and
  • increased chances of owning a home.

I believe so strongly in over-delivery, going beyond duty and in wealth-creation that I go further to ensure that marrying me will also result in:

  • us earning 13-18% more than our never-married peers and
  • you, if you partner with me – or any other woman of African descent, will be 30% less likely to fall into poverty.

…and of course, if we become parents our wealth-creating powers will go into overdrive!

Please be aware however that in spite of my wealth-creating party favors, I am still subject to economic downturns, recessions, stock market crashes, acts of terrorism, acts of God, death and dis-ease like and any and all situations and conditions which are out of my hands. I am however resilient, determined and able to adapt!

So from an economic standpoint, this is what I bring to the party and I would now like to present to you my social and familial prowess… next post!

Read the entire Comprehensive Review of Literature on the The Consequences of Marriage for African Americans

by The Institute of American Values

Sparks!

Leave a Reply

